Milo Duhn – Incongruity


I discovered Milo Duhn while following absib on their recent cross country tour. Throughout the tour the band played a wide arraying set of shows and one of them in Buffalo featured Milo Duhn. Why exactly I took the time to actually listen to his record is a mystery but it has been one of the best decisions of the year. Milo writes extremely personal songs that are full of teenage angst. The type of songs that make you feel as though you are listening in on something you weren’t entirely supposed to. He has certainly gone through some difficult situations that he is expressing in the only way he knows how to.

This is highlighted by the two part story that ties the whole album together. The first part being The Reason I Hate Sidewalks telling the story of a failed relationship and the pain and anger of seeing them with someone else emphasized by the wonderful lyric “wanted you to be the you in all my love songs”. Then the second part The Reason I’m Grateful was written months later in a more mature place emotionally reflecting back after some time and being OK with everything because they are happy.

Christian Holden (The Hotelier) – Acoustic sets

After now releasing 3 flawless records The Hotelier have quickly become one my favorite bands. But only recently have I rediscovered the beauty of the lyrics when I came across these two solo acoustic sessions by lead singer Christian Holden. In them you can see the power and passion that is put in their performances as well as the cuteness when they forget the lyrics to one of the older songs. Check them out below.

Camp Cope – “The Opener” (Live at Sydney Opera House)

2018 is about to be a huge year for Camp Cope. Not only for their music but also for their message of equity. Nowhere is this more clear then on their performance of “The Opener” the angry single of their highly anticipated sophomore record How To Socialise & Make Friends. In the performance lead singer Georgia Maq eye rolls her way through the lyrics of misogyny in the music industry.

Favorite Albums of 2017

1. Sorority Noise – You’re Not As _____ As You Think
2. Charly Bliss – Guppy
3. Alex Cameron – Forced Witness
4. Harmony woods – Nothing Special
5. Remo Drive – Greatest Hits
6. Alvvays – Antisocialites
7. milo – who told you to think​?​?​!​!​?​!​?​!​?​!
8. Los Campesinos! – Sick Scenes
9. Brockhampton – Saturation II
10. The World is a Beautiful Place & I am No Longer Afraid to Die – Always Foreign

11. Julie Byrne – Not Even Happiness
12. (Sandy) Alex G – Rocket
13. Diet Cig – Swear I’m Good At This
14. Sinai Vessel – Brokenlegged
15. Phoebe Bridgers – Stranger in the Alps
16. Strange Ranger – Daymoon
17. Nervous Dater – Don’t Be a Stranger
18. Vagabon – Infinite Worlds
19. Cayetana – New Kind of Normal
20. Big Thief – Capacity
21. Jay Som – Everybody Works
22. oso oso – the yunahon mixtape
23. Julien Baker – Turn Out the Lights
24. The Menzingers – After the Party
25. Neil Cicierega – Mouth Moods

Modest Mouse – Spitting Venom (Extended)

One of the many reason that Modest Mouse is one of my favorite bands and still my most scrobbled artist on is how different their songs can be when they are performed live. Combining lyrics from at least 3 other songs, here is one of their longest performances. The beauty comes in the build up during the middle of the performance leading into the lyrics of “Came as a Rat”. From here it becomes an improvised jam combing lyrics from “King Rat”, “Life Like Weeds” and some ramblings of what sound like the time the Issac Brook broke his jaw. The question I’d love to know is how much of the improvisations are rehearsed because they work out so great. Also if all these songs are connected lyrically or just because the rhythms flow together.

My First PC Gaming Build

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel – Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $299.99
CPU Cooler Cooler Master – Hyper T4 70.0 CFM Rifle Bearing CPU Cooler $29.99
Motherboard Asus – STRIX Z270H ATX LGA1151 Motherboard $139.99
Memory EVGA – SuperSC 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory $109.99
Storage Samsung – 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5″ Solid State Drive $99.99
Storage Toshiba – P300 2TB 3.5″ 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $62.99
Video Card EVGA – GeForce GTX 1080 8GB FTW Gaming ACX 3.0 Video Card $529.99
Case Corsair – SPEC-02 ATX Mid Tower Case $57.99
Power Supply Thermaltake – Toughpower Grand RGB 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply $79.99
Operating System Microsoft – Windows 10 Pro OEM 64-bit Purchased For $0.00
Keyboard Corsair – Vengeance K65 Compact Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Wired Gaming Keyboard $78.64 @ Amazon
Mouse Logitech – G502 Wired Optical Mouse $53.43 @ Amazon
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total $1542.98
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-07-25 21:27 EDT-0400

Alex Cameron – Candy May (Music Video)

Alex Cameron is a singer you would expect to find in Las Vegas in an old casino off of the strip playing to a handful of people because he refused to Jump the Shark. And this is exactly the scene that is portrayed in his latest music video for the single off his soon to be released record Forced Witness.

Ever since discovering Cameron sometime last year. I have been enamored with his timeless voice and character that blur the line of reality and the 4th wall. That doesn’t change here with the fantastic line “So I live with a deep regret, Of all I do on the internet”. With support from the likes of Brandon Flowers and Angel Olsen who the latter provides backing vocals on the album. The character of Alex Cameron is set for a breakout that he and we deserve